Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising 4 secondary and 6 primary phase schools. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Forensic Science - BTEC Level 3


BTEC Level 3

Exam Board



This can lead to degrees in Science and Forensic science, Police Studies and other related Subjects. Jobs could include Crime Scene Investigator for the Police or a Forensic Science Officer in a Forensic Science Laboratory.

On successful completion of a BTEC Level 3 qualification, a learner can progress to employment or continue their study in the same, or a related vocational area in further and higher education, within universities and other institutions. 

The BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in forensic Science is a two year course that helps students develop specialist, practical skills and understanding, within Forensic Science. It offers a specialist qualification that focuses on particular aspects of employment within the Forensic and science sector.  This qualification is equivalent to 2 A-levels grades A*-E.

Students carry out a range of tasks that have been designed to recognise their achievements in a modern, practical way that is relevant to the workplace. 

Forensic Science is a course which combines both Science and Law together to aid criminal investigations. Within this fascinating subject, students will learn techniques used within criminal investigations to establish or exclude someone suspected of committing a crime. Within this course students will carry out different forensic techniques commonly used to support law enforcement, to include but not limited to, photographic evidence, blood evidence, fibre evidence, finger print evidence. This course also enables students to understand the process of investigations from the crime scene to the courtroom. 

What does it cover?

To gain this qualification you must cover all units listed below:

Year 12

Year 13

Unit 1

Principles of Applications of Science (examination)

Unit 3

Scientific Investigation Skills (external assessment)

Unit 2

Practical Scientific Procedures and Techniques (internal assessment)

Unit 5

Application of Criminology (External assessment)

Unit 4

Forensic Investigation Procedures in Practice (Internal Assessment)

Unit 6

Criminal Investigation Procedures in Practice
(Internal Assessment)

Unit 9

Environmental Forensics (Internal Assessment)

Unit 8

Physiology of Human Body Systems (Internal Assessment)



Staff Contact:
Miss M Jones -