Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising 4 secondary and 6 primary phase schools. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Health & Social Care BTEC Level 3

Specific Course Entry Requirements  
Examination Levels Offered

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate
(equivalent to one A-level)

Examination Board Edexcel

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide a broad educational base for further training, further education and employment within the Health and Social Care sector. The qualifications will develop learners’ abilities through the knowledge and skills gained in different parts of the programme.

The vocational context of the qualification is key to effective delivery and this can be provided through assignment briefs that provide learners with realistic, work-based scenarios and projects.

This course introduces students to key concepts and a body of knowledge that will provide them with an invaluable perspective of issues in health and social care. It consists of four units, three of which are mandatory and one optional unit. Two of the mandatory units are externally assessed/ examined units.

In Year 12 two units are completed: 

Unit 1: Human Life Span Development – Examined Unit
This unit will develop your knowledge and understanding of patterns of human growth and development. You will explore the key aspects of growth and development, and the experience of health and wellbeing. 

Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Coursework)
In this unit, you will learn about the values and principles of meeting care and support needs and look at some of the ethical issues that arise when personalising care. You will examine factors that can impact the professionals who provide the care and support, and the challenges that must be overcome to allow access to good quality care and health services. 

In Year 13, two units are completed:

Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care - Examined Unit
This unit will help you to understand what it is like to work in the health and social care sector. 

Unit 14: Physiological Disorders and Their Care (Coursework)
In this unit, you will learn about the signs and symptoms of physiological disorders and how they are investigated and diagnosed. You will also learn about the different types of treatment and support available for individual service users, including surgery, rehabilitation and complementary therapies.





Staff Contact
Mrs G Ojekwe-Uche -