Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising 4 secondary and 6 primary phase schools. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust


Level GCSE
Exam Board Edexcel Specification 1MA1

The GCSE Mathematics Course enables students to further explore mathematics and solve problems in a variety of situations.  They continue to build on the knowledge and skills covered in Year 7 and Year 8.  This course will develop knowledge, problem solving and mathematical reasoning.  

The exam is divided into two tiers.  The Foundation tier is sat by the majority of students covering grades 5-1.  The Higher tier is a stretch and challenge paper, which is only sat by the most able, and cover grades 9-4.

The examination comprises of three 1½ hour examinations, all equally weighted and one paper being non-calculator. 

The GCSE Mathematics Curriculum covers:

  • Number
  • Algebra
  • Ratio, Proportion and Rates of Change
  • Geometry and Measure
  • Probability and Statistics

For more information on the content within these topics, please refer to the specification 

Route Maps

Show list Show Grid





Post-16 Choices
To study Mathematics at A-level, students are required to attain a minimum of a grade 7 at GCSE.  GCSE Mathematics prepares students to make informed decisions about the use of technology and management of money; it is an entry requirement for many A-Level subjects such as Science, Psychology and Economics.  A higher grade in GCSE Mathematics is required for a wide variety of colleges and apprenticeships.






Staff Contact
Mrs D Gwynne -